Present Past Profile Quotes Dreams & Goals Notes Design Host

�reads:
tobehis
lobo21
standongrace
jondavid2010
fistofdoom
koorikaze

My Bucket Lists
Dreams and Goals - 2004
Bucket List - 2019

The current mood of Seinahpet210 at www.imood.com

Very Amusing Day :)
11:38 a.m. || November 10, 2005

I go to a middle school every day of the week for field experience. On Mondays, Wednesdays, and Fridays I go to 2nd period, and on Tuesdays and Thursdays I go to 4th period. Today, sitting in on 4th period was very amusing. :D

Usually it's pretty boring because I can't do much but sit there in the back or walk around a little and look over their shoulders to see what they're doing and stuff. :P But today they were writing stories in groups--their own ends to The Legend of Sleepy Hollow. Today as I walked around I asked some of the groups how their stories were going. One group has four people in it--Nikki, Steven, Stephanie, and Jesse. Nikki has a very controlling personality and is basically writing their story. But MAN! Has she got ideas! She could be a wonderful writer. I certainly hope she pursues that... But the friends she's hanging out with are kind of a bad influence and she might ditch writing to fit in with them. :'( I'm just going to pray she doesn't.

Oh my gosh. Funny thing about asking Nikki's group about their/her story. After they'd answered me (Stephanie said, "I don't know! I don't know whether it's going good or bad", LOL!), Nikki looked up at me with the most (faux) innocent look and asked, "Are you hear to make sure Mrs. S behaves?"

LOLOLOL!!!!!!! Though I was cracking up inside, I explained to Nikki seriously about how I'm taking a class and I'm going to be a teacher and I'm here to watch and see how Mrs. S teaches and stuff. "She's a meanie," Nikki said. Which... I can understand. She does get angry in dealing with her students, particularly the ones who make the most trouble, but she's really a wonderful person. She just doesn't relate to the kids well. She's in her late forties or early fifties, so she probably has kids my age, and these kids are 12 and 13 years old! But anyway... Nikki told me, "You'd be a much nicer teacher than Mrs. S." Aw... That was nice to hear and at the same time... Poor Mrs. S. Poor teachers. Their kids just don't understand them. The tragedies of life. (LOL... Prof D would so pounce on me for calling that a "tragedy"... LOL!)

The second group I asked only had a sentence or two written, which surprised me, since Rebecca, Roger, and...was it Thomas?...seemed like a group that would do well on a group story. But Rebecca told me that the fourth member of their group (ChaRee) wasn't there, and she had their story. That was such a bummer... I hope those four remember their story pretty well, and I hope ChaRee comes to class tomorrow.

The third group I asked how their story was going was a group of very good-humored boys. :D Kevin, Emmanuel, and Logan told me that their story was coming along well, but it was weird, so they didn't think they would get a good grade. LOL!! I didn't read or ask exactly what was in their story, just reminded them of what Mrs. S said: if things in it tied into the story, if it wasn't too far out there, then it'd be fine. They seemed skeptical. LOL. I'm thinking it'll be a good story and a funny one.

After making my rounds about the classroom, I went back to my lonely table in the back and looked on, wishing I knew what to do now. I told Matt and Courtney to stop hitting each other, and Matt complained to Mrs. S that Courtney had hit him, and since he was arguing and angry, Mrs. S sent him to the group of empty desks to sit by himself. He was pretty ticked off. Kicked the desk and stuff. But after a few minutes of sitting, he did the most interesting thing: he got up, pulled the sheet of their story (which was finished) from his group, and went to Mrs. S's desk and said, "Can you read this?"

Mrs. S, still a bit annoyed with Matt and rebellious kids in general, said, "Not right now, Matt! Put it here; I'll read it later when I have time." So Matt set it down, but only for a brief second. Then he picked it back up and came to me and said, "Can you read this?"

Having nothing better to do, of course, I said, "Sure, I can read it."

It was written with an old typewriter.

Agh, I have to go to lunch and work! Waaah! {sigh} I will be back and finish this most amusing story later. :)

-Stephanie

previous || next

Miss Something?

Social Anxiety with Guys - February 07, 2024

Education Expo with an ADHD Kid - February 03, 2024

Lovely Church Experience - October 22, 2023

Seek Out Community in Christ - August 29, 2023

Grieving Lost Friendships - May 08, 2023