Present Past Profile Quotes Dreams & Goals Notes Design Host

�reads:
tobehis
lobo21
standongrace
jondavid2010
fistofdoom
koorikaze

My Bucket Lists
Dreams and Goals - 2004
Bucket List - 2019

The current mood of Seinahpet210 at www.imood.com

Domino's and The Da Vinci Code
8:06 p.m. || June 06, 2006

Aaagggghhh. Domino's wants to hire me again. So I guess I'm back at the old pizza place. Oh JOY.

At least Joey is still there. He's the best comic relief anyone could ask for. He's such a goof.

Monika works there. She was in my French class in high school. She is graduating this Saturday.

There were two boys working when I went up there that I didn't know. Young guys--15-ish. It's so nice to not be a newbie anymore. I get to tease the newbies now. :D I'm sure those boys will be fun to tease. And then they'll develop crushes on me and it'll be hilarious because I'm 5 years older than them, haha! :P

Oh, I am malicious. O:)

The part I'm most upset about right now, about getting the job at Domino's, is I don't know what hours to put down for what I can work. I don't know if Liz has found another babysitter for the summer or not. If she has, no problems at all! Hallelujah! But if she hasn't... I'm in a world of hurt, simply because I won't know if she's going to need me or not--so I don't know what hours I can work at Domino's.

The problem is not mornings. Monday-Thursday, Domino's doesn't open until 4:00 p.m. The problem is evenings. If they keep me till one a.m. I'm going to have a time getting up to go to babysitting at six a.m. I can sleep, of course, when I get there, but the problem will be getting up.

I'm also worried about Sundays. I don't know if Ty will let me have them off again. I mean, it seems probable that he would, but I'm scared to ask for them off again. I actually wouldn't mind working Sunday nights, but I wouldn't want to work earlier than 5:30 (which is my normal work time anyway).

Anyway, I'm going to talk with Mom about this tonight, hopefully. And then tomorrow... early... I'll call Liz. Or maybe I'll call at one; that's when Nathan's dad usually gets home. Yeah, that's a good idea... He would tell me whether she'd found a babysitter or not without pressuring me to be the babysitter. Liz really trusts me a lot, and she really wants me to babysit for her. I respect that. I'm glad she has so much trust in me.



::cackle:: I really am malicious. I've been talking to Sabrina about The Da Vinci Code. I love to play devil's advocate with her. She is young. I take upon myself the job of opening her mind. And don't worry... Those of you who've been reading me long know I couldn't be too hard on her. :) Poor girl, though. I wonder if I'm opening her mind or closing it tighter?

Sabrina: what do you think about The DaVinci Code?
Me: I don't know; I haven't seen it or read it. I've heard about it. what do you think about it?
Sabrina: it's full of lies
Me: it's sure got a lot of stuff contrary to traditional Christian beliefs
Me: from what I've heard... I read about the movie on www.pluggedinonline.com
Sabrina: Jesus couldn't have been married right?
Me: why not?
Sabrina: do you think He was?
Me: I have no idea
Me: the Bible doesn't say anything about it
Me: that's not the only historical record of that era though :shrug:
Me: I just don't know
Sabrina: wouldn't being married interfere with His mission?
Me: why would it?
Sabrina: i don't know
Sabrina: doesn't the Bible say the we are Jesus' bride so He wouldn't be married
Me: it says that. I don't think I ever took it in a literal sense
Me: quite frankly, I don't really understand that metaphor very well... probably because I've never been married
Sabrina: besides Jesus was fully God so He wouldn't marry it would cloud the mission
Me: it might've been interesting, had Jesus married...then he'd REALLY be human with us in every way, 'cause he'd have had sex
Me: I wonder why God didn't let him have that part of humanity?
Me: (not a question, really, just a thought)
Sabrina: maybe God did
Me: maybe, yeah
Me: maybe he already knew what it was like, since, being God, he created it
Me: I don't know
Sabrina: that's true

Sabrina: what do you think of Harry Potter?
Me: I think you've asked me that before. I've never read any of the books or seen the movies. I had the first four read to me, but I don't remember any of it... I have to read books myself in order to remember them.
Sabrina: i see
Me: how many are there out now?
Sabrina: 6
Me: oh wow... somehow I thought there were a lot more
Me: guess I'm ahead of the times, LOL
Sabrina: lol
Me: wow, this is fascinating. I'm reading about The Da Vinci Code right now.
Sabrina: i see
Me: no wonder it's so popular. it seems very intricate and mysterious and, of course, "shakes the foundations of Christianity", as Wikipedia puts it
Me: I should read it
Sabrina: i don't want to read it
Me: the man who wrote it obviously has a great mind to come up with all these details.
Me: but why don't you want to read it?
Sabrina: i just don't
Me: kinda like I "just don't" want to read Harry Potter, eh?
Sabrina: i never said you had to read harry potter i just asked
Me: oh, I know--I know you weren't telling me I had to read them. I just know you're a big fan. I also know something you don't: the real reason I don't want to read Harry Potter is because I'm afraid it will influence my mind and change my ideas.
Me: I'm afraid that I'll start dabbling in witchcraft, like I've been warned from my fellow conservative Christians, and get too close to Satan... irretrievably close
Sabrina: i have read them but i'm not a witch. I read them because they are a good fiction story
Me: I bet The Da Vinci Code is a good fiction story, too.
Sabrina: yes but i don't want to read it
Me: yeah; I don't want to read Harry Potter, either

And so we are at a standstill. I nearly said that to her. I don't know if she caught every connection I made, though. She might have... She is 18 years old now. (Just turned last week or so.)

I remember what it was like to be young, naive and close-minded. It wasn't that long ago for me. Now Sabrina's at the same spot... I hope she goes to college, because college sure changes you--as long as you go to a college where you feel safe enough to be changed. That's why I'm glad I went to NNU.... Regardless how beautiful the local college campus was. :)

-Stephanie

previous || next

Miss Something?

Social Anxiety with Guys - February 07, 2024

Education Expo with an ADHD Kid - February 03, 2024

Lovely Church Experience - October 22, 2023

Seek Out Community in Christ - August 29, 2023

Grieving Lost Friendships - May 08, 2023