Present Past Profile Quotes Dreams & Goals Notes Design Host

�reads:
tobehis
lobo21
standongrace
jondavid2010
fistofdoom
koorikaze

My Bucket Lists
Dreams and Goals - 2004
Bucket List - 2019

The current mood of Seinahpet210 at www.imood.com

Elizabeth's Wedding
9:34 p.m. || May 14, 2007

(Not super happy, but not sad. So there. :) )

Elizabeth got married Saturday. :) I was the second bridesmaid... Quite a day! I got up at 7:00 and headed over to Liz's at 7:45 to get my hair and make-up done. I was in a bad mood till about 8:45 when I finally started to wake up, LOL. I lost the jewelry that she gave me--all the bridesmaids had matching, handmade jewelry--so that was upsetting, but there was a candle lighter who didn't want the jewelry, so I got to keep and wear hers. :D We had a light breakfast--croissants, pastries and strawberries--and we didn't get lunch, but we had some snacks like granola bars and crackers.

Liz's colors were red and white. Her grandmother made all the dresses, including Liz's. They are floor-length, satin dresses with tucks that are reminiscent of Belle's dress in Beauty and the Beast. They kind of remind me of frosting for some reason--the fluffy, whipped kind. We had white roses for our bouquets; Liz had red roses. I walked with a very funny guy from high school that I have missed a lot, so that was great. :D

Weird irony... All the groomsmen were taken (dating, engaged or married--we had all three!) and all the bridesmaids were single, except Liz's sister, the matron of honor. She got married last year.

I was more nervous than the bride! This was the first wedding I've ever been part of. I was nervous about everything, but particularly about the walking down the aisle and up the two or three steps to the stage. I was scared to death I'd step on my dress and rip it. I didn't--though Liz stepped on her dress and one of the tucks came out. Poor girl. :) She was completely calm about it, though. That girl amazes me. She is SO levelheaded--very different than me! But her levelheadedness is what makes us good friends. We balance out.

Liz and her sister surprised their dad with singing his favorite song (that makes him cry), "Butterfly Kisses." I watched until I knew he was going to cry and then I had to look away. Well away. 'Cause I knew I'd lose it.

All of us bridesmaids cried. The candle lighters cried. Ryan cried and Liz cried and several people in the audience cried... The groomsmen were fine, LOL. They were probably like, Why on earth are weddings always full of crying? :D Guys are such a nice change of company from girls... So nondramatic. At least most guys. Ahem.

Anyway... I got to hold Liz's humongous bouquet when Melissa (her sister) fixed her dress and when she went down and sang "Butterfly Kisses." That was fun. I felt kind of important--like a secondary maid of honor, which is what I might have been had Elizabeth not had a sister (I like to hope so, anyway). We're basically each other's oldest friend. :) Liz will probably be a bridesmaid in my wedding. Sam will, too, though, so she might take the maid of honor position.

Liz had a girlfriend from college sing "From This Moment" by Shania Twain. I didn't know she was going to do that--and I was just thinking two days earlier that I wanted that song at my wedding. It's a great wedding song. I can't copy Liz, though (nor am I enough of a country fan to have it as special music), so I'll probably just put it in my wedding some other way. I want Cherie Ketchum's song "Angel" in my wedding somehow. That I might sing or have someone sing. I LOVE that song.

Anyway... At the reception the bridesmaids and groomsmen covered the "getaway car" in temporary spray paint, glass writers and streamers. We wrote some pretty scandalous things on there... :S I sure hope Liz's parents weren't too offended. And I hope they think it must've been the guys that wrote the worst stuff! Although that might not necessarily be true... Heehee...

Sigh... So my best friend is off and married. Wow.

But I promised I wouldn't make this super sad. SO. The wedding went quite well and I'm really dealing with it all right. I can deal with big changes if they come slowly and expectedly. Liz and Ryan have been together since our senior year of high school. Anyway... My time will come someday. I wonder if I'll be in anymore weddings before then?

I've got to go. I have packing and a million other things to do before I leave at the end of this week. Good night!

-Stephanie

previous || next

Miss Something?

Social Anxiety with Guys - February 07, 2024

Education Expo with an ADHD Kid - February 03, 2024

Lovely Church Experience - October 22, 2023

Seek Out Community in Christ - August 29, 2023

Grieving Lost Friendships - May 08, 2023