Present Past Profile Quotes Dreams & Goals Notes Design Host

�reads:
tobehis
lobo21
standongrace
jondavid2010
fistofdoom
koorikaze

My Bucket Lists
Dreams and Goals - 2004
Bucket List - 2019

The current mood of Seinahpet210 at www.imood.com

Adventures at WinCo
7:52 p.m. || February 02, 2008

What a LONG day! My mom and I went to a bridal show and had to stay pretty much the whole time because the grand prize drawing was at 4:30. We went from 10 AM to 11:30 AM, and then went and got lunch, went to my apartment and looked at Fairytale Endeavors online, went back to the show at 2:00 and stayed until after the drawing. I didn't win anything except a $10.00 Mary Kay product of my choice--I have to set up an appointment with the lady to get it, though. That's okay. Anyway, after the show, we went to WinCo and got gorceries and stuff for celebrating my unbirthday party. :D It's not my birthday until next weekend, but Mom's here THIS weekend, so we were going to have our own little celebration. We got back to my apartment with my traditional Domino's pizza, and then Mom realized that my presents from her were at my aunt's house, where she's staying, and I didn't want to go over there. I have toooooooooo much homework, and my little 9-year-old cousin would draw me into playing with her. So we just had pizza... No presents, no cake... We're doing it tomorrow. But I was looking forward to having it today. :(

WinCo was not a good experience. I think that's chiefly why I'm so exhausted. We went at about 5:00 and it was PACKED. There were way, way, way too many people. We managed to get through the store and pick up everything we needed, but then when we got into one of the mile-long lines that were all tangled up in each other, we realized we'd forgotten hot dog buns. Mom stayed in line while I went in search of hot dog buns, and when I got back, Mom had moved and there were too many people and I couldn't find her. I kind of freaked out. I don't do well with a lot of people, especially at a grocery store with my mom when I can't find her. I looked, and looked, and looked, and looked. Too many heads, too many carts, too much noise. I kinda panicked a little when I searched for a good 10 minutes and couldn't find her, started crying, ran away to an aisle with nobody in it and tried not to hyperventilate.

Which is a bit of an overstatement, but you get the picture.

A kind woman came and asked me what was wrong. I felt silly--an almost 22-year-old crying because she couldn't find her mother--but she drew me gently out of the corner I was hiding in and I decided to look for Mom from the other side of the checkout aisles. She was probably done already anyway... But what about the hot dog buns? I tried not to look like I was stealing them as I walked through one of the checkout aisles in search of Mom. It wasn't too difficult--there were so many people around, I doubt a single cash register person took note of me. But anyway... She was there, she'd already bought the stuff. "Why didn't you call?" she asked when I explained that I'd lost her. "Because my stupid phone is here in the cart in my purse!!" I cried, frustrated.

There were people pressing behind--the lines still a mile long--but Mom cut in really quickly, explained, and paid for the hot dog buns with some stray cash she had, and finally we made our way out of the madhouse.

"That sucked," I said to Mom once we got out into the blustery, snowy evening, calming down but still a little teary-eyed. "I felt like I was lost and no one was ever going to come and find me."

I'm okay now.

The roads are getting covered with the snow that is falling. I so wish the snow would just stop. Oh springtime, don't be late...

-Stephanie

previous || next

Miss Something?

Social Anxiety with Guys - February 07, 2024

Education Expo with an ADHD Kid - February 03, 2024

Lovely Church Experience - October 22, 2023

Seek Out Community in Christ - August 29, 2023

Grieving Lost Friendships - May 08, 2023