Present Past Profile Quotes Dreams & Goals Notes Design Host

�reads:
tobehis
lobo21
standongrace
jondavid2010
fistofdoom
koorikaze

My Bucket Lists
Dreams and Goals - 2004
Bucket List - 2019

The current mood of Seinahpet210 at www.imood.com

Temporary Agencies
1:39 p.m. || June 05, 2008

Well, that was an interesting experience. I just went to get an interview with a temporary agency (Volt). There were two other people there in the office looking for jobs. They were chatty, which was kind of amusing, because they didn't seem to know each other at all. The girl was working on a test for electronic assembly. She had to ask the guy for help a couple of times. I tuned in after a bit of waiting. The girl looked up at me in the middle of her mutterings about the test and said something like, "I don't know any of this stuff. Do you know any of this stuff?" I laughed a little. "Nope. Electronics is definitely not my department."

"Yeah, you look more like you're looking for office work," said the guy, who was wearing a tan T-shirt with some kind of picture on it and shorts (?). The girl was wearing a cotton striped V-neck and probably jeans. I was wearing a button-down, long-sleeved shirt with charcoal gray slacks and was concerned that I didn't have a nice jacket yet to go with the nice outfit I was wearing. I was struck for a moment by the differences between me and the two of them.

"Yeah, office work is more my area. I graduated from college with a degree in English," I said. I realize now that that may have sounded kind of hoity-toity to these two, but I was actually just spouting off what I'd been telling every single job or job service I had applied for.

The guy made a thoughtful, surprised sound. "Kind of a bummer that you have to come to a place like this to find a job when you have a college degree."

My turn to be surprised. I endeavored to explain. A place like this? "Oh, I just barely graduated from college, so I'm just applying here to see if I can get some work until I find a permanent job."

I actually said "a real job", and then I was really embarrassed and tried to explain that I meant a permanent, full-time job. Thankfully neither of them seemed offended. I don't think the girl even caught what I said. The guy kind of went along with me: "Yeah, I need to find a permanent job too..." He told me a little about himself, but I don't remember it, because just then the lady called me back to her office.

It turned out not to be an interview, because I was at the wrong office. The office here is for light industrial work. She referred me to one downtown that is more for people looking for clerical or administrative jobs.

So I left after only 5 minutes in there, giving a half-hearted explanation to the two (did I need to do that?) still at the table. I wished them luck and went on my way.

Well, I am really tired. I got up earlyish today so I could finish the skills assessments that Volt gave me to take, and now I'm wiped out. Also starving... But I think sleep is going to win this time.

-Stephanie

previous || next

Miss Something?

Social Anxiety with Guys - February 07, 2024

Education Expo with an ADHD Kid - February 03, 2024

Lovely Church Experience - October 22, 2023

Seek Out Community in Christ - August 29, 2023

Grieving Lost Friendships - May 08, 2023