Present Past Profile Quotes Dreams & Goals Notes Design Host

�reads:
tobehis
lobo21
standongrace
jondavid2010
fistofdoom
koorikaze

My Bucket Lists
Dreams and Goals - 2004
Bucket List - 2019

The current mood of Seinahpet210 at www.imood.com

News & Stories - Happy 4th!
12:12 a.m. || July 04, 2008

Steve figured out I am on birth control.

I knew it wouldn't take long. :P I am terrible at keeping my own secrets. Really terrible.

On the one hand, I feel kind of chagrinned that I wasn't able to keep it from him. On the other, I'm relieved that now he has a rational explanation for my irrational behavior. :D "Blame it on the patch," I said. "Blame everything on the patch." LOL.

We're both sickish right now. He's had a fever on and off the last few days. I just felt icky today, but I thought maybe it's my body thinking I'm pregnant again. Morning sickness, anyone? Oy. I'm not so sure this birth control is such a good idea after all. Fiddle.

I got emotional again today, which made me go "UGH" more than anything. That's what led to Steve revealing to me that he'd figured out I was on B.C. I started to cry for a stupid reason again.

Body, get used to this already, okay? :P After 2 months, I'm told, those problems should be no more. But my doctor didn't prepare me very well!! "Will there be any side effects, like mood swings?" I asked her. She said, "The patch runs a smaller dosage, so the side effects won't be as extreme as if you were taking the pill." Right.

In other news, Mom and I went to Jo-Ann's and got my decorations for the reception! YAY!!! Fall leaves galore...I am so excited. I can't wait for it to be fall.

I'm tired of the hot weather here, which is somewhat surprising. In my hometown, our summers started in late May and went to mid-September, with temperatures above 80, and more often in the 90s and 100s, every single day. The summers here are mild compared to that. Mid-80s every day, with a few random swings to the 90s.

But I guess the rains start coming again in September. And then it pours from September to June. LOL.

We had a GIANT thunder and lightning storm here last night. It woke me up at 2:30 in the morning. HUGE!!! While I'm thinking of it, funny, slightly terrifying story:

Last night, as I said, the thunder and lightning woke me up at 2:30 in the morning. I'd been asleep for, like, an hour. I'm a little afraid of thunderstorms, so when I woke up and saw the sky flashing outside, I curled up a little tighter in my sheets and started to listen to it until I was sure it was nothing more than a thunderstorm.

All of a sudden, I heard the scariest sound ever, and it was definitely not thunder.

BANG BANG BANG BANG BANG BANG!

What the crap?!!! Something was in my house! It sounded like someone was trying to break down my door!!

BANG BANG BANG BANG BANG BANG BANG BANG!

Oh my God, save me, oh save me... Figuring I'd better do something about the freak in my house before he did something to me, I rolled as quietly as I could out of my bed, shaking like a leaf, pulled on my shorts, and picked up my baseball bat and my cell phone.

BANG BANG BANG BANG BANG BANG!

What the crap was that?! It sounded like it was right outside my door!

I crept to the door to the living room. My eyes adjusted slowly. Didn't see anything. The thunder and lightning continued.

BANG BANG BANG BANG BANG BANG!

That had to be coming from the kitchen. Shaking even worse, I crept very quietly to the kitchen, bat ready in hand to clobber whatever I might encounter, cell phone ready to speed dial Stephen.

There wasn't anyone in the kitchen, either. I looked all around, and then down... There was my dog, lying on the floor, legs splayed out from under her, one paw caught in a frying pan.

(My dog is about 15 years old and her 50+ lb. body is definitely breaking down.)

BANG BANG BANG BANG BANG! The sound was her trying to get her paw out of the frying pan.

Still way shaky, I knelt down by her, put my hands on her back, stroked her to comfort her (she's blind and deaf too). She was panting pretty heavily. I wondered how long she'd been stuck. I laid down my bat and carefully removed her paw from the frying pan. She tried to get up, but her claws slid on the linoleum floor and her legs weren't strong enough to lift her all the way up. So I crouched over her and wrapped my arms around her and heaved her up so she could get her footing. She was still panting pretty hard. What a lot of exertion for a dog her age!

I petted her some more. She looked around, kind of like she didn't know what to do next. Then she clipped her way toward the laundry room and I figured she was going to go outside to go potty.

The thunder was still rolling and booming overhead, and the lightning was still flashing in through all the windows. I hurried back to my bed and flopped into it. Last time I got woken up and scared out of my mind, I fainted. I didn't want to take any chances this time.

I didn't feel faint, which was good. Mostly I felt hugely relieved that it was just my dog. The storm was still raging, though, and with all that adrenaline racing in me, I knew I wouldn't be able to get to sleep till I talked to someone.

Steve said I could call him whenever I felt scared, even if it was 3 in the morning--which it was quickly approaching. I still didn't want to call him. He had had a very long, very stressful day. He hadn't gotten home till late, and when he got there, Petey, the dog we adopted (but are now going to have to get rid of), had torn up his apartment a second time. So I tried Mom's cell first. It went straight to voicemail, though, which she never set up. I guess I'd have to call Steve after all.

After 10 minutes of consideration, I decided to just do it. There was no way I was getting to sleep. And maybe he was awake listening to the storm, too.

When he answered he sounded fairly awake, which I was glad of. I talked to him about the storm until I felt better. He said it had hit them about an hour earlier, and had woken him up too. I told him about the dog and he laughed, hard. It felt good to make him laugh even at 3:15 in the morning.

After talking to Steve, the storm didn't bother me much. And I wasn't scared of intruders anymore. So I got to sleep okay. I did sleep in late the next morning, however.

The 4th of July scared me last year--with all the fireworks sounding like machine guns aimed at my house from midnight onward. This year Mom will be home, so it won't be as unsettling. And Steve might spend the night...We'll see. Now that he knows I'm on birth control, it might not be a good idea, even though Mom will be here. We'll see.

Three more months...Three more months...

-Stephanie

previous || next

Miss Something?

Social Anxiety with Guys - February 07, 2024

Education Expo with an ADHD Kid - February 03, 2024

Lovely Church Experience - October 22, 2023

Seek Out Community in Christ - August 29, 2023

Grieving Lost Friendships - May 08, 2023