Present Past Profile Quotes Dreams & Goals Notes Design Host

�reads:
tobehis
lobo21
standongrace
jondavid2010
fistofdoom
koorikaze

My Bucket Lists
Dreams and Goals - 2004
Bucket List - 2019

The current mood of Seinahpet210 at www.imood.com

Rodgers & Hammerstein's Cinderella
1:24 p.m. || April 10, 2009

What a dreamer I am! I finally caved and did a Top 5 on Facebook like everyone else is doing, LOL. I actually did about three of them. One was my top 5 books I wish I had never read, one was my top 5 cereals, and the last was my top 5 books I love. It was easy to pick my top 5 books I love. They've stayed with me all my life: The Secret Garden, A Little Princess, Daddy-Long-Legs, Mandy, and The True Confessions of Charlotte Doyle. They're all books about girls who got through life on their own either through love, passion, imagination, or a combination of all three. Charlotte Doyle is maybe the only exception, but she did make it on her own and changed a lot in the process. I had to decide between that book and Bridge to Terabithia, but Bridge is so different than the other 4 that I decided to go with Charlotte anyway.

And to add to my top 5 books, I got a desire to see the old Rodgers & Hammerstein's version of Cinderella, which my mom owns and I grew up watching. It was so strong that I talked Stephen into letting us buy it. He prefers buying movies over renting them anyway, because it's cheaper. So we ordered it off of Half.com for only $6 total including shipping & handling. But it won't get to us until probably next week. I wanted to watch it so much that I just looked up videos of it online and amazingly found them! :D I opened "In My Own Little Corner" first and let Stephen listen to it--he's never seen it. As I listened to it for the first time in years, I realized how well it goes with all the books I love. And at the end, Stephen told me with a smile, "You would like that" and I had to agree with him. :D

Here are the words, just for fun:

I'm as mild and as meek as a mouse
When I hear a command, I obey
But I know of a place in my house
Where no one can stand in my way.

In my own little corner, in my own little chair
I can be whatever I want to be.
On the wing of my fancy, I can fly anywhere
And the world will open its arms to me.

I'm a young Norwegian princess or a milkmaid
I'm the greatest prima donna in Milan.
I'm an heiress who has always had her silk made
By her own flock of silkworms in Japan.
I'm a girl men go mad for, love's a game I can play
With a cool and confident kind of air
Just as long as I stay in my own little corner
All alone in my own little chair.

From inside: Cinderella! Set the table.
At once, ma'am!

I can be whatever I want to be.
I'm a slave from Calcutta, I'm a queen in Peru
I'm a mermaid dancing upon the sea.

I'm a huntress on an African safari
It's a dangerous sort of sport, and yet it's fun
In the night I sally forth to seek my quarry
And I find I forgot to bring my gun!
I am lost in the jungle, all alone and unarmed,
When I meet a lioness in her lair--
Then I'm glad to be back in my own little corner
All alone in my own little chair.

I suppose it was inevitable that I would be all dreamy this these last couple days, considering the other day I woke up from a dream with "Let Me Be Your Wings" from Thumbelina stuck in my head, LOL. When Steve got home for lunch, I still had it stuck in my head and I just wanted to dance with him, pretending to be on air like Thumbelina and her prince in the movie. :D

Here's another clip from Cinderella that I love--it's right after her stepsisters and mother get home from the ball, disgruntled because the prince didn't dance with anybody except some mystery princess (Cinderella) all night. This has got to be my favorite clip in the whole movie, although it's cut short by the stepmother (italics=spoken):

Cinderella: I can imagine the whole thing. How it feels to be wearing the most beautiful dress you have ever worn in your life--to look like a princess! I imagine--I imagine--

When you're driving through the moonlight on a highway
When you're driving through the moonlight to a dance
You are breathless with a wild anticipation
Of adventure and excitement and romance
Then at last you see the towers of the palace
Silhouetted on the sky above the park
And below them is a row of lighted windows
Like a lovely diamond necklace in the dark.

Esmerelda: It looks that way
Prunella: The way you say
Stepmother: She talks as if she knows
Cinderella: I do not know these things are so
I only just suppose

I suppose that when you come into the ballroom
And the room itself is floating in the air
You're suddenly confronted by His Highness
You are frozen like a statue on the stair
You're afraid he'll hear the way your heart is beating
And you know you mustn't make the first advance
You are seriously thinking of retreating--
Then you seem to hear him asking you to dance.

You make a bow, a timid bow
And shyly answer, "Yes."

Stepmother: How would you know that this is so?
Cinderella: I do no more than guess.
I do know more than guess...

I think I can picture such a man. He is tall--

Esmerelda: And straight as a lance.
Cinderella: His eyes--
Prunella: Can melt you with a glance.
Cinderella: Yes. I can picture the whole thing! How you start thinking--
Esmerelda: Start thinking what?
Cinderella: --How wonderful it all is.
Stepmother: How wonderful--WHAT all is?!

There the clip ends... I can't remember what happens thereafter; perhaps I shall have to update when I have the actual movie in hand. :) I think the stepmother basically just puts an end to all the dreaminess and insists that they all go to bed--except Cinderella, whom she orders to clean up the place.

It's such a good movie. :)

...I need to get up and go eat something. Maybe I'll finish later.

-Stephanie

previous || next

Miss Something?

Social Anxiety with Guys - February 07, 2024

Education Expo with an ADHD Kid - February 03, 2024

Lovely Church Experience - October 22, 2023

Seek Out Community in Christ - August 29, 2023

Grieving Lost Friendships - May 08, 2023