Present Past Profile Quotes Dreams & Goals Notes Design Host

�reads:
tobehis
lobo21
standongrace
jondavid2010
fistofdoom
koorikaze

My Bucket Lists
Dreams and Goals - 2004
Bucket List - 2019

The current mood of Seinahpet210 at www.imood.com

Woman in the Grocery Store
12:27 p.m. || June 21, 2011

I see a lot of weird people at Freddy's--like homeless men getting groceries with what money they had scraped together in the day--but this guy was exceptional.

Standing in the checkout line, I heard a voice, which I immediately deemed "snake," saying to somebody behind me, "...Open a joint bank account...We should open a joint bank account...a joint bank account." My loser-sensor went off and I wondered what kind of poor, lost woman would be taking this kind of crap. And was she actually listening?

As I put my groceries on the belt, I glanced backward. I only saw the guy's back and graying hair, but I saw the woman's face. I had been expecting a black-haired, pierced-lip, 20-something but what I saw was a harrowed, weathered, 40-something woman with golden blonde-dyed hair. Her face was deeply creased around her eyes and especially her mouth. The glance was only a split second, but it told me this was a woman who didn't know she could expect something better.

Unfortunately, her partner must have seen me, even though I hadn't seen his face, because I heard him say, "What? She checking me out?" I didn't turn around again or give any indication that I heard what he was saying, just loaded the rest of my groceries on the belt and held my purse a little closer. "What?" I heard him say. "What?" I thought he had still been talking to his "woman," but apparently he had been trying to get me to turn around again, because the next thing he said was, "F***ing prissy stuck-up..."

Wow.

I wasn't really hurt by his words, although their vulgarity was a bit of a shock to my system. My brain had already plopped him squarely in the category of drunk, high, or otherwise mentally ill and my heart had translated it into fear, worry, and, most of all, pity for the woman. I said a couple prayers for her. I never know if those prayers do anything. Will she really wake up and realize what a loser she has got? Will she ever truly know that she can expect more from men? Or is he a stalker-boyfriend she can't rid herself of? Of my three questions, the last one rings the most true to me. :( I worry that she will end up on the side of some street one of these days, beaten to death, and he will be on the hunt for another one. :/

How do women get to those places?

---------------------

Forgot to mention he started rapping in the store, and she said something about him being the next Vanilla Ice. I think his response was, "No, not the next Vanilla Ice, the next [name of another rapper]. Vanilla Ice will never be again."

Thoroughly creeped me out and I never want to encounter him or his type again.

previous || next

Miss Something?

Social Anxiety with Guys - February 07, 2024

Education Expo with an ADHD Kid - February 03, 2024

Lovely Church Experience - October 22, 2023

Seek Out Community in Christ - August 29, 2023

Grieving Lost Friendships - May 08, 2023